UTSA Announces Search Advisory Committee for Art School Principal | UTSA today | UTSA

“We are thrilled to convene the Research Advisory Committee and identify a Founding Director who shares our commitment to developing visual and creative arts education and student learning,” said the COLFA Dean. Glenn Martinez. “Since our institutions announced the merger last summer, faculty at SSA and UTSA’s Department of Art and Art History have worked collaboratively to develop a new Bachelor of Fine Arts program. -arts focused on interdisciplinarity and career-oriented artistic training.”

Martínez added, “The new Founding Director will champion this collective vision, while seeking new opportunities for the expansion of the fine arts while preserving SSA’s tremendous legacy.

The Research Advisory Committee will be chaired by Lisa Montoyavice-rector for global initiatives, and Tracy Cowdendirector of the music department of UTSA will be the co-president.

Committee members include the following:

  • Arturo Almeidaart specialist, UTSA University Art Collection
  • Richard ArmendarizProfessor, Department of Art and Art History, UTSA
  • Marc BlizardAssociate Professor and Director, UTSA School of Architecture & Planning
  • Justin Boydassistant professor (formerly of the Southwest School of Art)
  • Stephanie Peche Canalesassociate director of development (formerly of the Southwest School of Art)
  • Greg Elliotprofessor and outgoing director, Department of Art and Art History
  • Ovidio GibergaAssociate Professor, Department of Art and Art History
  • Victor Guerrero, sr. Administrative Assistant, Department of Art and Art History
  • Rebecca Gomez, sr. Administrative Assistant, Honors College
  • Joe Harjoassociate professor of instruction (formerly of the Southwest School of Art)
  • Julie JohnsonAssociate Professor, Department of Art and Art History
  • David VanceAssociate Professor and Director of Creative Writing, Department of English

In addition, several leaders from San Antonio’s arts community will join the committee as resource members:

  • Elise Boyanformer Chairman of the Board of SSA
  • Randy CainChairman of the Board of SSA
  • Kate Careyeducation manager, McNay Art Museum
  • André HerdegPartner, Lake|Flato Architects
  • Jon HinojosaPresident and Chief Innovation Officer, SAY Sí
  • Ashley Mireleseducational coordinator, Artpace San Antonio
  • Olga MoucolisExecutive Director of Industry and Community Partnerships, Edgewood Independent School District
  • Lucia Abramovich SanchezAssociate Curator of Latin American Art, San Antonio Museum of Art
  • Alexandra van de KampExecutive Director, Gemini Ink

“We are extremely grateful to these community leaders, as well as the faculty and staff, who support this important process,” said UTSA Provost and Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs. Kimberly Andrews Espy. “SSA has played such an important role in our San Antonio community, and involving the community in this process to help identify leadership for our new school is a critical part of its future success.”

Last month, UTSA announced that it had selected executive search firm Koya Partners to help with the search. Founded in 2004, Koya has conducted more than a thousand executive searches for mission-driven organizations in the United States and around the world.

Kayleen C. Rice