Winners of the PTA Reflections art program | Overview SPUSD | South Pasadenan

PHOTO: South Pasadena PTA Council | South News | (LR) Leo Tuason, Isaac Madrigal and Noel English have been recognized through the PTA Reflections Art Program.


Congratulations to the following SPUSD students whose works have been honored through the Reflections Art Program of the First District PTA (FDPTA), the regional organization that stretches from Burbank to Pomona and includes the South Pasadena Council PTA. All FDPTA winners were presented at an awards ceremony on Saturday, April 2, 2022 at the Arcadia High School Performing Arts Center.

Secondary Schools Division
Dance Choreography – Outstanding Performance:
Phoebe Ho, “This House”

Intermediate school division
Dance Choreography – Outstanding Performance:
Abigail Hillman, “Ripples to Breakers”

Visual Arts – Merit Award:
Katelyn Kim, “Words, Small but Strongest”

Musical Composition – Honorable Mention:
Noel English, “Making a Change”

Intermediate Division
Photography – Exceptional interpretation:
Kadence Chian – Marengo Elementary, “CHANGE”

Film Composition – Merit Award:
Emilio Jones – Marengo Elementary, “I will change the world”

Dance Choreography – Honorable Mention:
Laila Jennings – Marengo Elementary, “House of Gold”

Primary division
Photography – Awards of Excellence:
Leo Tuason – Monterey Hills Elementary, “Things Happen Slowly”

Film Composition – Merit Award:
Leo Tuason – Monterey Hills Elementary, “Saving the Octopuses”

Special Artists Division
Photography – Exceptional interpretation:
Isaac Madrigal, “Hunter’s Moon

The entries of Phoebe Ho, Abigail Hillman, Kadence Chian and Isaac Madrigal have been selected to advance to the California state level of the competition. A full list of FDPTA award winners can be viewed here, and the spreadsheet includes hyperlinks to view all FDPTA submissions. A slideshow of all SPUSD entries can be viewed here.

For more information, contact: South Pasadena Unified School District, Office of the Superintendent, [email protected].

Kayleen C. Rice